Author Topic: Help !! trying to decide if I should remove the hair piece and go bald Wednesday  (Read 30063 times)

taxman193

Hi everyone.

I have been researching various sites and I think this is the best site I have seen with this particular issue. I have read some of the postings and found them inspirational.

First, I am a professional who has been wearing a hair peice for over 20 years. Let me say that it does look good. I look much younger, I think, then I would without it and most people (outside of my family) do not know that I wear a piece. However, I am sick of it. Just sick of it. Sick of the upkeep, expense, glue and especially sick of limiting my activities such as swimming in the water below my head for a change.

I have been thinking about getting rid of it for a long time now. I just recently got a new one. By the way, I have it professionally "installed" and maintained every 4 weeks. I know many hair pieces do not look natural but I think the ones I have worn over the years do look natural, as natural as a wig can be I guess.

I want the kind of freedom all of you have. I want to wake up in the morning without having to glue the tape and spend 1/2 hour making sure it looks good. I want to be able to just be me and go swimming etc..

Like many of you, I have worries and anxiety about actually doing it. I have a vacation to Vegas coming up this Thursday and I have an appointment with my hairdresser on Wednesday. I am seriously thinking about just shaving it all off on Wednesday. This would give me some time to get use to it and maybe get a tan on the top of my head before that dreaded day of walking into work when I get back.