Author Topic: Very pale and going bald.  (Read 15186 times)

Offline jasabb

• Learning the way of Sly
Very pale and going bald.
« on: April 29, 2013, 04:30:23 PM »
Hello everyone.  I've been lurking on this site for a couple of weeks and I have to say it is a really inspirational site to visit.  As just about everyone on here has, I've been losing my hair for many years and I've always known I was going to bald eventually. 

It is now to the point where it is time to make a change.  My only fear is that I am very pale.  I'm pretty much always the most pale person everywhere I go, and once I do go sly I really think I will look like a ghost to everyone.  I don't tan naturally, usually my face will just get a little red and then go back to pale white.

The main reason I wanted to post on here is to get some perspective from other pale guys that took the plunge.  What kind of reactions did you get and how did you deal with it?  It sucks that we live in a society where everyone feels like being tan and having a full head of hair is ideal.  I've also thought about using some of those sunless tanners on my dome when I do eventually shave it.  I would like to get some thoughts on that and if there is anyone like me and actually uses sunless tanners on their dome, and does it look realistic?  Thanks and I appreciate any comments.

Offline shavedslick123

• Sly Jr.
Re: Very pale and going bald.
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2013, 12:11:08 AM »
I used a sunless tanner at first.. pretty good results... have since discovered the ease of a "fake tan" at the my local tanning shop... It looks pretty good and might help you get over the "hump". I don't tan well either... my skin reacts the same way... but I am very prone to burning and have a genetic predisposition to skin cancer, so I avoid prolonged exposure to the sun anyway. Sucks and is somewhat difficult being from the Southeast U.S. We light complected folks are out there, just have to improvise. Good luck! bp

Offline 50plus