Author Topic: Teetering on that fence!  (Read 6227 times)

Offline toastedbusters

• Learning the way of Sly
Teetering on that fence!
« on: May 20, 2011, 11:14:57 PM »
I've been a bit of a lurker but I finally bit the bullet and felt I'd jump in for some experienced advice from folks you actually have been through it!

I'm 24 and first noticed my crown thinning a few years ago in college. For the past two years, it's been spreading and I've been using all the tonics I can afford with my meager money to try and curb it. When I was still at home, my parents would lament that I wasn't "proud" of my appearance but didn't try to stop me. I played it off to my friends like it was no big deal, but their comments stung. And although I've dated many different girls since my hair started thinning, I was never as lucky as my friends at the bars and the women I dated, while not shallow, always left me feeling like I was somehow inadequate.

Well, I'm sick of it. I'm a teacher now and my kids can't believe I'm only 6 years older than some of them. Parents are convinced I'm married with a family of my own. And while the girls still don't comment, it's getting more and more obvious whenever I go out that it's an issue. The thinning crown has now become a ring of baldness on my vertex that I've tried to ignore or take as a sign of pride and joke about, but I'm sick of having this giant beacon on the back of my mind calling in my insecurities to everybody I know.