Author Topic: anyone in finance?  (Read 2624 times)

Offline riverdude

• Learning the way of Sly
anyone in finance?
« on: May 19, 2008, 07:13:01 PM »
hey guys. I have about a year left of college and obtaining a degree in finance. Im just confused on what my next step should be. Thinking about getting an internship somewhere but any advice from someone who has had some experience. Thanks everyone.

Offline SLYinKC

• Life's too short to not be SLY
  • Sly Bureau
  • Totally "SLY"
Re: anyone in finance?
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2008, 07:16:21 PM »
Welcome, Riverdude.  I'm a CPA and have a degree in business administration.

I think internships are a great way to get some real-world experience and develop some good business contacts.  Sounds like a good plan.  Best of luck.
<a href="http://www.imagechef.com/" target="_blank"> [img width= height= alt=ImageChef.com - Custom comment codes for MySpace, Hi5, Friendster and more]http://cdnll.img1.imagechef.com/w/080404/samp2e8ccec0733546ef.jpg[/img] [/url]<embed

Offline Razor X

• Sly Moderator
  • Sly Nobility
« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2008, 07:18:43 PM »
hey guys. I have about a year left of college and obtaining a degree in finance. Im just confused on what my next step should be. Thinking about getting an internship somewhere but any advice from someone who has had some experience. Thanks everyone.

I have a degree in accounting and finance.  I did a 5-year-cooperative education program, so I did three internships before I graduated.  Having a bit of experience can give you an edge over your competition and it will definitely do a lot to boost your confidence --- going on an interview for that first "real" job won't be as scary when the time comes.   I say go for it.

Offline BlackJamesRackham

• Sly Bucco
  • Ultimate Sly Guy
« Reply #3 on: May 20, 2008, 01:58:42 PM »