Author Topic: Live to work OR work to live  (Read 10711 times)

Offline -Doug-

• Sly Moderator
  • Sly Bureau
  • Be yourself. Everyone else is already taken.
    • Gabe's Shirt Goes To..
Live to work OR work to live
« on: October 23, 2007, 07:55:49 AM »
Is it just me or has society become a place where work comes first - at the expense of time with the family and free time? For me, as a school administrator, my job use to be very 9-5. They even said in the interview that they didn't expect me to work late. Well, we have a new upper administration and the mood is now work above all else!

My son recently joined the Tiger Cubs (beginning Boy Scouts) and I want to help out. I can't though because I can't guarantee my free time after work.

Has this sort of thing happened to anyone else?

Life has three aspects: Paradox, Humor, and Change.

Paradox: Life is a mystery; don't waste time figuring it out.
Humor: Keep a sense of humor, especially about yourself. It is a strength beyond all measure
Change: Know that nothing stays the same.

Offline SLYinKC

• Life's too short to not be SLY
  • Sly Bureau
  • Totally "SLY"
Re: Live to work OR work to live
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2007, 08:00:59 AM »
Most definitely.  The 40 hour work week seems to be a thing of the past.  It really takes a concious decision and alot of effort to try to keep things in balance.  And even then, there is only so much you can do.  Two income households don't help the situation either.
<a href="http://www.imagechef.com/" target="_blank"> [img width= height= alt=ImageChef.com - Custom comment codes for MySpace, Hi5, Friendster and more]http://cdnll.img1.imagechef.com/w/080404/samp2e8ccec0733546ef.jpg[/img] [/url]<embed

Offline Robmeister

• The Duke of SLY
  • Sly Moderator
  • Sly Bureau
  • I'm not this handsome in real life
« Reply #2 on: October 23, 2007, 08:50:35 AM »
Piggybacking on y'alls' thoughts: