Author Topic: Double edge razor for my head  (Read 1547 times)

Offline Treecutter

• Learning the way of Sly
Double edge razor for my head
« on: January 25, 2015, 05:49:59 PM »
Hello everyone. I am new to this site and am looking for some advice.

I have been shaving my head with  cartridge blades for several years but would like to make the switch to a double edge razor. I am looking for recommendations for my hair type plus any pointers that would make the transition go smoothly.

I have a full head of coarse hair that I shave three times a week.

What would be a good  handle and blade?

I currently do all my shaving in the shower and use no lotions or creams on my head or my face. What other items will I need to give me the best shave possible?

Thank you in advance for your input and help.

Offline Sir Harry

• Sly Kegler
  • Sly Moderator
  • Sly Nobility
Re: Double edge razor for my head
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2015, 06:58:16 PM »
Welcome, Treecutter!

A good starter DE razor is the Microtouch Razor which is sold at most drugstores and WalMart. You can get it for $20.00. Also, you can get a starter shaving brush, kit and soap for $25 at those same places. I would also invest in Shave Secret preshave oil which is sold for $4. Shave secret mixed with any shaving soap leads to a very smooth shave with almost no irritation. If you want to invest in more expensive razors and soaps you may have to shop online, though you can find some good deals on ebay and Amazon. Good luck!
Even when the d is removed, the devil is still evil.

Offline warhawk

• sly 4 life
  • Sly Moderator
  • Sly Nobility
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2015, 07:10:07 PM »
Hello everyone. I am new to this site and am looking for some advice.

I have been shaving my head with  cartridge blades for several years but would like to make the switch to a double edge razor. I am looking for recommendations for my hair type plus any pointers that would make the transition go smoothly.