Author Topic: Going for shorter handle (Merkur Progress)  (Read 2613 times)

Offline 120inna55

• Ultimate Sly Guy
    • 120inna55
Going for shorter handle (Merkur Progress)
« on: June 26, 2014, 11:58:26 AM »
I can get a BBS shave on my face with any of the DE razors I've tried, but I'm trying to find the optimal one for my head.  (Yes, I've left HeadBlade again...the speed of the shave just can't trump the comfort of the DE.  My skin thanks me for going back to DE.)

Anyways...I'm currently using a Merkur 23c (long handle) with Feather blades.  I can get a decent shave but I wish I had more adjustability, so I just ordered a Merkur Progress.  I've never used an adjustable before.  It's my understanding that I should back to more of a midgrade blade, so I ordered some Israeli Personna's (Crystal).

I exclusively use  shave soap and I shave in the shower, so my skin prep is always optimal.

What are your experiences with the Progress on your head shaves?  Any tips?

Offline Fondlheine

• Sly Jr.
  • Lost in the wreckage...
Re: Going for shorter handle (Merkur Progress)
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2014, 02:24:27 PM »
I don't have a progress, but do use my Futur from time to time on the bean - I use either Med Prep's or Lab Blue's.

The adjustment part is nice (when I shave my face, WTG I set to 5 or 6, XTG I'll go down to about 2.5, and ATG down to 1 or 1.5), but on my head I keep it down to 1 or 1.5.

That being said, I tend to get a better shave overall (face and head) using a slant (I have the 37c, the 39c and an Ikon DLC slant).

When I'm truly in a mood, I'll use straights all around, but that takes time and practice :)

Offline Goatee

• Bald and Proud to be!
  • Ultimate Sly Guy
« Reply #2 on: July 11, 2014, 02:41:46 PM »
Been thinking of trying a Progress myself as i have the same results as you 120

Offline 120inna55

• Ultimate Sly Guy
    • 120inna55
« Reply #3 on: July 11, 2014, 04:23:38 PM »