Author Topic: the white scalp effect.  (Read 20335 times)

Offline outsider82

• Sly
the white scalp effect.
« on: August 03, 2007, 06:42:23 AM »
Hey guys,

This is a question mainly directed at the guys with fair skin that doesn't tan easily.  How long did it take for your head to gain some colour after you shaved for the first time?

Out

Offline JDog

• Sly Bureau
Re: the white scalp effect.
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2007, 07:01:02 AM »
Out,

One thing to remember is that our sun here in OZ is pretty strong so when you do go fully Sly,if you go into the sun,make you use a Sunscreen of at least 45SPF.

A good week in the sun and your dome will tan to the same color as your face.Guaranteed.

X The Hierophant

« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2007, 07:17:40 AM »
As a newbie, I can actually answer this one.  I shaved my head for the first time two weeks ago, and I have very light skin tone and when I first shaved, my head was a pastey sickly white.  I made it a point to go and sit in the sun everyday around noon to get good direct sunlight.  The first two days I used headshade (spf 15) and was out for 30 minutes on day 1 and 45 on day 2.  After that I stopped using any sun block and went out for 30 minutes per day.  I got a little pink the first day with no sun screen and skipped the next day.  I didn't burn badly and the pink turned into tanner skin in about 48 hours.  I then repeated 30 min in the noon sun (no sunscreen) for the rest of the week.  Within 7 days or so my freshly shaved scalp was blending with my face much better.

A week should do it ... just don't overdue and fry your head.

Offline Timmay

• Team Sly
  • Sly Nobility
« Reply #3 on: August 03, 2007, 07:28:22 AM »