Author Topic: Advice on Razor vs clipper, aftercare etc - Newbie  (Read 24463 times)

Offline balderandbalder

• Learning the way of Sly
Advice on Razor vs clipper, aftercare etc - Newbie
« on: December 20, 2012, 03:49:44 AM »
Hi All

New to forum.

As a 30yr old with thinner and thinner hair, I have been clipping my head for about 18 months now.

I use a cheap rechargeable beard trimmer with no blade so essentially a zero.(similar to this one...http://www.debenhams.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/prod_10001_10001_324005002663MISC?CMP=OTC-GOOGLEPS&tmcampid=28&tmad=c&adtype=pla) This does tend to work well and i can do it myself over the bath with or without a mirror. (I do have a cheap plug in hair shaver but it does not give as clean a shave and needs to be plugged in to the mains.

However the beard trimmer is not ideal for a few reasons....

1) The blade isnt as wide as a plug in head shaver so it takes a little longer. (About 5 or so minutes in total) - About once a week.
2) Leaning over the bath so it catches all the hair is annoying
3) With the top of my head being thinner, even a close shave with the trimmer can show the bald top and shaved sides. (Really dont fancy the Rex Linn look  http://wwwcdn.channel5.com/assets/images/000/000/146/full_left_column_CSI__Miami_-_Frank_-_small.jpg?1282562400)

So.......

I have a 3 circular head electric beard shaver. (again cheapish - £40/$60ish, similar to http://www.very.co.uk/remington-r3150-dual-360-shaver/926757207.prd?aff=google&affsrc=acquisition&cm_mmc=google-_-Electricals-_-ELECTRICAL_AND_SEASONAL_ELECTRICAL_PERSONAL_CARE_SEAS_MENS_GROOMING_PK233-_-R3150_Dual_360_Shaver_81APqPOV )
Would this work on my head?
Before i try it i need guidance as i really dont want to start shredding my scalp!!!

The possible advantages i see of using the beard shaver are:
1) Closer shave than head clippers??