Author Topic: Considering the Big Step  (Read 5955 times)

Offline Sooner Steve

• Ultimate Sly Guy
Considering the Big Step
« on: May 26, 2007, 08:24:14 PM »
I am new to this forum.  This is my first post ever and I need some help.

First off, I am a 43 year old professional.  I started experiencing male patterned baldness when I was 20.  My maternal grandfather was completely bald from the time I was born.  When I started losing my hair, I must be honest, I panicked.  I began wearing a hairpiece at that time.  I have worn a unit since that time.  I have a deal worked out with my barber that he gets me quality units at cost so I have stayed ahead of the curve, so to speak.

However, the continued self consciousness is wearing me out.  I always insist that I sit with my back against the wall anytime I am in a restaurant or in public.  I look at myself in every mirror I pass.  I have carried a brush in my pants pocket for 15 years and am continually wandering if anyone notices my hair.  I have had people ask me before if I wear a unit and some people have figured it out on their own.

A couple of months ago I stumbled upon Head Blade products on the internet because I googled "how to shave your head".  I was interested and ordered some products.  Since the unit I wear comes off every night, I have experimented with shaving the part that is already bald (it has a little bit of hair but not much). 

Anyway, I am strongly considering shaving my head - in fact, I want to shave it.  I think it looks great.  My wife said she supports my decision either way. 

My problem is this:  I am scared to death of seeing everyone in my community for the first time.  I guess if I had never started wearing a hair piece it would not be a big deal.  However, after 23 years it is.

Surely someone in this forum has been in my shoes.  How do you overcome the fear?  I apologize for the length of this post but I hope you can give me some help.  I appreciate your comments.

Thanks in advance.