Author Topic: Barber shop shave  (Read 6627 times)

Offline baldOUfan

• Sly Okie
  • Sly
  • Boomer Sooner
Re: Barber shop shave
« Reply #15 on: August 11, 2012, 10:13:10 AM »
Think I found one in OKC, OK going wed will report back.

Offline Beardman

• Sly Bureau
  • Sly and loving it since 2 June 2012
« Reply #16 on: August 11, 2012, 07:52:02 PM »
That is something I might like to try one day. I have never stumbled across a barber shop in Australia though, but when I do, I will be sure to go visit!

Now, I think about it... we did have one in my city when I was growing up, but that is long gone now  :'(

Offline ProphetNoir

• Sly Jr.
« Reply #17 on: August 12, 2012, 05:43:16 AM »
I used to get my head shaved at a Russian barbershop about once a month before I graduated from clippers at home and started lathering up for myself.  The most interesting thing was that I got my shaves from four different barbers during that period.  One of them was a woman and another was a very young man.  I noticed absolutely no difference in the quality of my shaves between the four of them.  Each time was uniformly perfect, and they all used a straight razor.
I believe the secret is that they were all trained in the European tradition of being apprenticed to a master in their profession and were all taught a singular method.

The other thing that I found entertaining, was that this shop is located directly across the street from an Art of Shaving shop in midtown Manhattan.  Although their primary business in giving haircuts, they also do a fair amount of shaves, and at $15 a pop compared to the $45 across the street at AoS.

If you haven't experience it yet, I hope you find a full service barber or an Art of Shaving location nearby. 
It can be a very relaxing sort of spa treatment.

Offline waine

• just waine
  • Ultimate Sly Guy
  • Proudly Sly since 30 April 2012.
« Reply #18 on: August 12, 2012, 06:42:02 AM »
Sounds good Prophet... O0