Author Topic: Been a long time coming  (Read 3386 times)

Offline Whysosly

• Learning the way of Sly
Been a long time coming
« on: June 16, 2012, 11:45:22 AM »
Hi everyone,

This is my first time posting on this forum.
So I guess a little introduction is in order.
I'm 23 years old, I come from the Netherlands and my hair started thinning when I was around 19 years old I think.
At the beginning it wasn't so bad , but things quickly got worse, it's not just a receding hairline but I'm also balding on the top and on the back of my head.

I tried alot of things, including propecia which gave me some very nasty side effects like constant feelings of anxiety and a loss of libido.
So I decided after 5 months to quit that , after which things luckily returned back to normal (sadly also the rate of hair thinning).

Eventualy I even thought about getting hair transplants but when I went to the clinic they told me that even that probably wasn't a good idea since my donor area was not thick enough for the transplant to have alot of effect.
And to make it work I would have to go on propecia again , spent a lifetime of taking pills and using expensive shampoos , which just wasn't an option for me.

I have always spent alot of time on my appearance, which is one of the reason I go to the gym alot (at least 3 days a week), when I look good I feel good.
But I haven't had that feeling in a very long time, cus I'm always worrying about covering up my hair-loss, I can never leave the house without an umbrella in case it rains and I don't enjoy swimming anymore either which I always used to love cus I'm afraid of my hair getting wet.
It's been hard on me and I've felt realy depressed about it.

Luckily I met an amazing girl about 1,5 years ago, who has been realy supportive of me, she has already made it very clear to me, that it isn't an issue and she even encourages me to shave it of if that's what I would want.