Author Topic: Newbie here...first-time headshave-please help  (Read 3269 times)

Offline Tsuji

• Learning the way of Sly
Newbie here...first-time headshave-please help
« on: June 10, 2012, 03:12:49 PM »
Hi guys.  I have always gotten my hair buzzed as short as possible by my barber (basically all I have left is sandpapery stubble at the end of my haircut), and I have decided to finally take the plunge and just shave it all off completely.   I have a pretty thick head of hair (when it grows out), and it tends to be pretty coarse.   I have to admit that I am kind of intimidated by the prospect of shaving my head (afraid of botching it up or nicking my scalp up big-time), so I would appreciate any advice or insight ya'll could offer me.  A few friends over at badger and blade told me that this was a really helpful board. 

I should add the my primary concern is the uneven terrain of my scalp.   I can honestly say that I have one of the ugliest scalps out there.  From "mid-scalp" back, I have wrinkles, and "pot-holes" galore.    It is kinda like a mountain range back there, with tiny (and not so tiny) bumps, and ridges, etc.    Does this automatically mean that I am going to slice up this area of my scalp when I try to shave it, since the skin is so uneven?  Or is there a way I can avoid slicing up this area?   Thanks ina advance for any help or advice.  I plan on using a Mach 3 or a Gillette Sensor, and some Aveeno shaving cream.

Offline Frontier Guy

• Team Sly
  • Sly Bureau
  • SBC: Sly By Choice ... "Since May 18, 2012"
Re: Newbie here...first-time headshave-please help
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2012, 04:10:07 PM »
I'll let the more knowledgeable respond to your questions.

I just wanted to say "welcome' and that the shaving experience probably won't be as difficult as you think. Just take it very slowly the first few times.

Again, welcome.
"Sly can adapt to all surroundings!" - Wisdom from KG 8/19/2012

Offline BaldHDbiker

• Ultimate Sly Guy