Author Topic: A question about Merkur razors  (Read 13679 times)

Offline Chavster

• Team Sly
  • Sly Bureau
A question about Merkur razors
« on: September 09, 2011, 04:01:54 PM »
Last night, I watched a guy on YouTube shaving his head. He was using a Merkur razor, and all was going fabulously well until he cut his head twice. Up until this point, his head was looking amazing, but then it all turned into the Texas chainsaw massacre, apart from the fact he was in Denmark.

I've been thinking about buying this:

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Merkur-38C-HD-BLACK-Handle-Safety-Razor-/120774277212?pt=UK_Health_HairRemoval_RL&hash=item1c1eb5385c

I have never used this type of razor before. The only time I ever got close to anything like this was when I was in Vegas last year, I went to The Art of Shaving, and a guy used a straight/cutthroat razor on my head, and I sat there while he was doing it, wondering why I hadnt bothered to update my will.

What would be my reason for buying that razor on eBay?

Firstly, is that a DE razor? Secondly, what exactly IS a DE razor? What does 'double edged' actually mean? Thirdly, and generally speaking, is it going to give me a better/more enjoyable shave than a Fusion/ProGlide/Hydro 5/etc?

I like the look of it, and I like the idea of it, but I dont know enough about them to make an informed decision. I'm prepared for a little blood, but is a bleeding head going to be worth it in the long term?

Offline D.A.L.U.I.

• Team Sly
  • Sly Nobility
Re: A question about Merkur razors
« Reply #1 on: September 09, 2011, 05:21:24 PM »
Firstly, is that a DE razor? Secondly, what exactly IS a DE razor? What does 'double edged' actually mean? Thirdly, and generally speaking, is it going to give me a better/more enjoyable shave than a Fusion/ProGlide/Hydro 5/etc?