Author Topic: New to shaving, need a few tips and guideline rules  (Read 4087 times)

Offline YoungOnline

• Learning the way of Sly
New to shaving, need a few tips and guideline rules
« on: July 03, 2011, 07:46:03 AM »
Hey all,

I'm new to shaving, been doing it for about 5 months now. I'm black so I have naturally curly hair. I've used a headblade and their products, bic razors, I currently use a gillette fusion proglide power and I have a wilkinson sword (schick to americans and others) hydro 5 coming this week.

Now, I get folliculitis (little white pimples and the annoying scabs), but only really on the side of my head, never on the top and sometimes on the back, but the back is usually minor.

I've tried different shaving techniques but I can't seem to beat the folliculitis. I recently started wiping down with witch hazel + tea tree oil cleanser after a shave and then moisturize with an aloe vera lotion. Since then the problem hasn't been as bad but it's still there. I'm not sure if this is just my head getting used to razer blade shaving (as opposed to 17 years of the barbershop) or if it's just me doing something wrong.

Any help greatly appreciated. I'm a sexy bald and I hate having hair, so the sooner I can get this down correctly and tan my head to match the shade of my face the better. ;D

Offline schro

• WORK SUCKS, I'M GOING GOLFING.
  • Sly Moderator
  • Sly Nobility
Re: New to shaving, need a few tips and guideline rules
« Reply #1 on: July 03, 2011, 08:17:47 AM »
Welcome!
That's interesting you're still dealing with a condition like that after 5 months of shaving. When I was dealing with sebhoerric dermatitis, the affliction died down after a week or so. Have you been shaving your head for 5 months also?

Agonizing over what cannot be is an insult to what is.

Offline Mikekoz13

• Sure you can rub it... all the girls want to...
  • Sly Moderator
  • Sly Nobility
« Reply #2 on: July 03, 2011, 08:29:56 AM »