Author Topic: Sly For Job Interviews  (Read 10473 times)

Offline Cardosoalex

• Learning the way of Sly
  • "We're all born bald, baby!" - Teddy Savalas
Sly For Job Interviews
« on: November 24, 2010, 05:48:14 PM »
Hello to all!

This issue has probably already been discussed in the forum but I searched a little bit and didn’t discover anything about it yet. I’m currently out of a job (yeah, it’s this damned economical crisis) and I’m unsure of the impact that the sly look may have on a job interviewer. What I mean to say is, can I be discriminated, or frowned upon, or even having less chances of succeeding on a job interview if I shave my head?

Could it be preferable to let my hair grow a little bit for the interview and then shave it all off after I get the job?  ;D

I don’t know if this is relevant but I am an industrial engineer, so my line of work is essentially in industry or possibly as a teacher.

I would really appreciate your opinion and/or personal experience on this matter.

Thanks in advance for the feedback.

Offline R o b 6

• Team Sly
  • Ultimate Sly Guy
Re: Sly For Job Interviews
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2010, 05:52:38 PM »
Most important thing is you are comfortable and confident in the situation, whether it's slick, stubble or hirsute! If it were really an obstacle all of us SBGs would be unemployed!

Offline D.A.L.U.I.

• Team Sly
  • Sly Nobility
« Reply #2 on: November 24, 2010, 05:57:16 PM »
Hair is essentially irrelavent--dress with style, clean, neat and appropriate--hair or the lack thereof is not an issue.  Polite behavior, knowing the subject matter, appropriate body response--look the interviewer in the eye, etc--that is important.  Good luck, know your stuff and get the job offer--then decide if it's right for you.

Offline TheSlyBear

• Opinionated Walrus
  • Team Sly
  • Sly Bureau
  • 忍者クマ
« Reply #3 on: November 24, 2010, 06:30:41 PM »