Author Topic: Question for CPAs  (Read 3564 times)

Offline knicks703

• Sly Guy in Training
Question for CPAs
« on: June 08, 2010, 04:17:11 PM »
Hey all, I'm a second year college student who really needs to make up his mind on what he is majoring in. At the time, I could still pull off a major in math, econ, accounting, or financial engineering. One thing that would suck about accounting is that I feel like I would have wasted all the work I put into Calc 3 and Linear Algebra.

Accounting is kind of appealing because our professors push it so hard. My school (Suny Binghamton) is apparently ranked pretty high for accounting, and the Big 4 recruit heavily at our school. I took financial accounting and enjoyed it a great deal.

On the other hand, I applied for all these summer programs with the Big 4 this year and got rejected from every one. I was only a Sophomore, but it was a little frustrating. If you can't get a job with the Big 4, is it even worth it to be an accountant?

I've read online that recruiters from the Big 4 can be really shallow. All the old students who come back and talk to us have all their hair. I'm 20, a NW3 and buzz my hair currently. Not quite sly. Is there a lot of bald discrimination in the accounting world?

I'm also a little worried about the salaries I see online. I'm relatively bright, and definitely a hard worker. Like anyone else, I wan't to make decent money. I really have no aspirations to be crazy wealthy, but I just want to be able to provide for a family. Is this possible for an accountant? I thought the job was supposed to professional, but when I look online, they make the same salaries as paralegals.

http://www.payscale.com/research/US/Job=Accountant/Salary
http://www.payscale.com/research/US/Job=Paralegal/Salary