Author Topic: I got fired....  (Read 5281 times)

backseatview

I got fired....
« on: June 01, 2010, 03:05:02 PM »
So I got fired today. Needless to say I cried like a little girl haha. I have no family, and few friends so I pour my all into my job. I wasnt fired for my work performance because it exceeded what was expected of me... But I was fired over some employees who was angry at me for telling them to stay off their cellphones. They lied and said all I did at work was stay drunk, that I touched them (the female employees) in bad places (but I am a gay man and everyone there knew that). I tried talking with my boss and she wouldnt hear me out... Im pretty depressed right now because where I live the only thing you can really do is sell drugs or work in the coal mines...

I was a asst manager at a fairly large hotel

Offline Gambrinus

• Bluegrass Bald Guy
  • Ultimate Sly Guy
  • HBG
Re: I got fired....
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2010, 03:08:06 PM »
Umm  that reeks of lawsuit  :popo

(|8-)

« Reply #2 on: June 01, 2010, 03:46:48 PM »
Is there anyone above your ex-boss you could talk to over coffee, or someone else there who you trust?  It won't help immediately, but if what you say is true, it will eventually become obvious to your ex-boss's boss that you were the one holding things together and that your ex-boss is impulsive and easily manipulated.  At that point, they'll need you back.  In the meantime, if there is someone there who can speak to the good work you did, it will help to have a reference while you're looking for something else.

I've been fired for pointing out substandard work, too.  Years later, the founder of that company hired me for another company he started after he learned the hard way that I was the honest and insightful one during that mess.  (The founder wasn't the one who fired me--the VP in charge was a friend of the guy who built all the stuff that didn't work, and it was easier for him to believe his friend than me.)

Good luck!