Author Topic: I think I'm the youngest person ever to have MPB.  (Read 3738 times)

Offline UltraPulse

• Learning the way of Sly
I think I'm the youngest person ever to have MPB.
« on: June 12, 2009, 08:51:22 PM »
I'm serious. I might post pictures later. Looking back through old yearbooks(I'm a 16 year old freshman) I've noticed that my right temple was ALWAYS bigger than my left, no matter how far back I go. Even in my old 2005 year book when I was in 5th grade (when I was 11-12?). Now that I buzzed my head, I've got the biggest V shaped hairline ever. It's like a cheese wedge. So I think it's funny when these 20+ year old guys out of school complain about it. Having this crap while in school is a major bummer. Also, whats funny is even though my hair has been buzzed for about a month now, nobody mentioned any receding to me. Not one, and it's right in front of their face.

IDK what this post was for, but just something I noticed, that I've been receding since like 13 or something.

Offline Razor X

• Sly Moderator
  • Sly Nobility
Re: I think I'm the youngest person ever to have MPB.
« Reply #1 on: June 12, 2009, 10:11:14 PM »
MPB at 16 is not unheard of, and it's probably not as bad as you think it is, anyway.   There's a tendency to panic when one first notices the first signs of thinning or recession.  Even if it is as bad as you say, look on the bright side -- you won't get carded.   ^-^

While most people still don't welcome it, MPB is not the devastating blow that it was 20 or 30 years ago.  In this day and age, it's common to see people of all ages with shaved heads.  It simply isn't a big deal.  Since you've already buzzed your hair, how about shaving the rest of it off for the summer once school is out -- provided that your parents are OK with the idea?  It will help you to realize what a non-issue being bald is, and it will make things a lot less scary for you in the future when you really do have advanced hair loss.