Author Topic: Layoffs  (Read 4819 times)

Offline time2shine

• Ultimate Sly Guy
Layoffs
« on: November 14, 2008, 05:42:03 PM »
Whats up domers.  As you all know, times are hard and poeple are losing jobs.  I heard rumors that my company would be doing layoffs, and yesterday I found out it's true.  I'm a contractor at my current company, and they just renewed a new contract, saying that they could only keep 3 guys from our team.  I was blessed to be one of those 3, but in turn I've lost two of my friends, who no longer have jobs.  I feel horrible seeing them go, and I will miss them.  Doesn't help that it's happening at this time of the year, either.
Just looking back at buck's thread, I know a lot of you guys have gone through getting laid off, and your replies give me hope for my buddies.  But given these economic times, it's been a struggle for people to find jobs lately.

Any news or rumors at your company?  I don't know if there is much you can do to avoid a layoff, but is there anything you're paying closer attention to these days?

Offline Mikekoz13

• Sure you can rub it... all the girls want to...
  • Sly Moderator
  • Sly Nobility
Re: Layoffs
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2008, 07:57:46 PM »
Trev-

For my company things are very good currently. the group I work in has hired 6 new contractors recently.
I have been laid off in the past and it's horrible for many reasons.

I will say this though........... I personally know a lot of people taht have been laid off over the years........ and I don't know one that wasn't better off for it in the long run.
"What contemptible scoundrel stole the cork from my lunch?" W.C. Fields

Offline marshd1000

• Sly Bureau
  • Love your bald noggin, wear a hat in the sun!
    • Christian Chromedomes
« Reply #2 on: November 15, 2008, 09:10:28 PM »