Author Topic: Bumps and rash and 30 day rule question  (Read 2657 times)

Offline Kojak

• Ich bin ein Berliner
  • Sly
  • Hang out with Stevie Ray in my Nations Capital
    • I make pinup art
Bumps and rash and 30 day rule question
« on: July 12, 2010, 11:38:49 AM »
Gonna make this short and sweet.

I am a newbie first shave was on 7/7/2010 and have shaved every day since, despite a minor case of bumps and rash. I have not cut or nicked my dome yet, but I have had skin irritation which has resulted in a rash near my lower neck. I have continued to shave everyday regardless of the rash, and have even shaved off some of the bumps causing bleeding.

Here is my question. Should I wait till the bumps heal before continuing to shave?

I am trying to shave everyday like suggested in the 30 day rule. The bumps seem to be going away. I changed razors and am applying less pressure on the 3rd shave and I think that is the correction I needed to avoid the bumps.

Follow up question, if I should wait during the 30 day rule, till the bumps go away, should I also wait in the future (post 30 day rule) when my skin and technique are better?

Thanks

"Who loves ya, baby?"~Kojak~

Offline D.A.L.U.I.

• Team Sly
  • Sly Nobility
Re: Bumps and rash and 30 day rule question
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2010, 12:40:16 PM »
Blood is nature's way of saying, take a break. 
But, are you using an non-oil based astringent after shaving, such as hydrogen peroxide or witch hazel.  Keeping the freshly scraped grape clean is essential.  Also, a mild anti-acne soap, such as Cuticura, will also help.  Wash the dome a couple of times a day--the hair, such as it was did absorb some of the dirt that now lands on your skin.  Also, change your pillowcases regularly.  Keeping it clean will help keep it clear.

Offline kenny57028

• Super Sly
« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2010, 12:53:19 PM »
I think you could take a day off for the bumps, and maybe shave a bit more gently.