Author Topic: Head shaving problems  (Read 4342 times)

Offline Wilo

• Learning the way of Sly
Head shaving problems
« on: February 22, 2012, 12:08:11 PM »
Hi guys first of all wanted to say hi and thanks for such a great forum.
I have been shaving my head ( about once a week or so) for a few years now with a gillette fusion and king of shaves oil and never had a flare up or issues before.
I have recently started using a head blade ( with triple blades) Taylor's of old bond street sensitive cream with a badger brush, I love shaving this way feels so much nicer but I am getting really bad flare ups on the back of my head and neck ( even turning into proper spots) :-( I looked around on here and took advice and got myself some witch hazel and some aloe vera gel and have been using it and it has stopped the flare ups turning into spots but it still looks bad.
Questions is what do you think is causing it? I could just go back to my Gillette fusion and shaving oil but I really like the head blade and shaving cream?
Any advice?

Offline BaldHDbiker

• Ultimate Sly Guy
Re: Head shaving problems
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2012, 06:11:52 PM »
Welcome aboard and enjoy. I'm not sure what would cause your flareups but i would continue to use the witch hazel and aloe vera. Hopefully it will go away over time.

Offline Razor X

• Sly Moderator
  • Sly Nobility
« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2012, 07:04:57 PM »
I would go back to what worked for you.  I'm not a Headblade fan.  Whenever I used it, I always had a lot more irritation on the back of the neck and head, which I did not get with any other kind of razor.

Offline ProphetNoir

• Sly Jr.
« Reply #3 on: February 22, 2012, 07:15:11 PM »
I'm inclined to agree with Razor X on this one.  If it wasn't broke, why'd you try to fix it?  Bored with success, maybe? 
Just messin' with ya, but I know how frustrating that irritation must be. 
Go back to what worked for you and keep using that Witch Hazel and Aloe anyway.