Author Topic: How short must my hair be before using foil shaver? After #1 guard ok?  (Read 4932 times)

Offline moose

• Learning the way of Sly
Trying to google foil shaver after #1 blade doesn't work.  Newbie here.  Female.  Have had a #1 buzzed head off and on for a decade or so.  I'd like to go shorter but paranoid about nicking myself if I take the guard off my trimmer.  Can I foil shave on a #1 cut or will that jack up the foil shaver? 
This has also come about because I have used the same cord (ugh) trimmer the entire time (the shame) and am looking to purchase a new trimmer and possibly a foil shaver.  Thoughts? 
I never realized this topic went beyond just grabbing my trimmer and taking 10 min to shave my head every so often.  Looks like I have a lot to learn  :o
THANKS

Offline Magoo

• Sly Bureau
Re: How short must my hair be before using foil shaver? After #1 guard ok?
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2018, 06:45:08 PM »
Welcome  to SBG , I think you would be better to take the hair down to  #0 . That is without the guard on the trimmer. You probably could do it with a #1 , but it might tend to pull your hair and take much longer to do. At any rate that is what I have done.
If only all men lived by the "Golden Rule ."

Offline reddog

• Sly Bureau
« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2018, 06:59:28 PM »
I agree with Magoo, at least from with no guard on the clippers. Even with that, it will take awhile for a coil shaver to go through it. A foil shaver works great with 1 or 2 days growth.
Bald by choice, and loving it!

Offline moose

« Reply #3 on: February 08, 2018, 10:07:13 PM »
Thank you, I got a mild amount of liquid courage and went down to 0 ... which looks awesome (what took me so long?!?).  Within an hour I was ready for the foil shaver.... but will wait until tomorrow. 

Offline reddog

• Sly Bureau
« Reply #4 on: February 09, 2018, 06:50:40 AM »