Author Topic: Shaving the back of my head  (Read 1218 times)

Offline rico

• Sly Jr.
Shaving the back of my head
« on: June 18, 2021, 12:05:11 AM »
While I've been shaving my head for more than 5 years, my skills have stalled. The sides and top of my head are easy, even though I have lots of side and back hair growth.  When I get to the back of my head, where I have to use two mirrors to see what I'm doing, I'm often left with a lot of stubble -- especially compared to the sides which are billiard-ball smooth.  What are the secrets for getting good results in the back?

I use a range of razors -- Omnishaver, the Defender, the Gillette Guard  --which is cool and came from India because it's not sold in the US. And I use both slick hair conditioner and canned shave foam. (I know;I know. I have enjoyed using a shave brush and puck, but my shave process is already quite involved and going old-school makes it take more time.)

Sometimes I go two weeks without a headshave, which I'm sure makes the whole project more challenging.

Offline reddog

• Sly Bureau
Re: Shaving the back of my head
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2021, 05:22:23 AM »
We all have our own routine. I shave in the shower, by memory and feel. Recently, I shaved in front of the mirror with my double edge safely razor and couldn't get a few spots smooth and had to close my eyes and go by feel. Helps me concentrate and hear the sound of the razor hitting the missed spots.
Bald by choice, and loving it!

Offline clint902

• Super Sly
« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2021, 05:37:14 AM »