Author Topic: New guy with a few questions  (Read 5424 times)

Offline trei

• Learning the way of Sly
New guy with a few questions
« on: July 05, 2016, 08:59:02 AM »
Hey guys, I was just doing some googling and I found this forum, seems pretty sweet!  I've been balding since I was 18, I'm 29 now.

I've been shaving my head with my clippers for the past 2 months without a guard and I've been thinking about going straight to the skin.  I really like shorter hair and I think I look decent with it.

I have a quick question though, I've noticed these 2 spots on my scalp the seem to flake 24/7.  I've been showering with Head and Shoulders for years but I've always had a bit of dandruff.  However, now that I'm down to the skin, these spots are very visible. 

I'm not too conscious about things like this (balding at 18 will do that), however, I have a job interview tomorrow and I'd like to do what I can to clear it up.  Would I be able to shave my head tonight and moisturize it and expect these spots to clear up a bit by tomorrow afternoon?

Offline Cave Dweller

• Bald & Bearded and staying that way.
  • Team Sly
  • Sly Bureau
  • Not Bear nor Troll - just in the dark with the TV
Re: New guy with a few questions
« Reply #1 on: July 05, 2016, 09:36:10 AM »
Welcome to the board, Trei.

A lot of guys have reported that shaving relieves or eliminates that flaking. I have found that exfoliating my scalp also cuts down on that kind of thing. I take a small handful of plain kosher salt each morning and scrub my scalp with it. It has gotten rid of the rough patches and actually helps me get s close shave. It also is incredibly cheap.

Good fortune on your interview!
"A man who has lost his hair and is bald is clean."
Leviticus 13:40
(Do not argue with Moses!)

Offline trei

« Reply #2 on: July 05, 2016, 12:36:32 PM »

It almost looks like I have a dark spot on my head under the hair, will that just be a visible dark spot once shaved?

Offline wpruitt

• Sly Moderator