Author Topic: 28 years old, just took the plunge.  (Read 5144 times)

Offline SephF

• Learning the way of Sly
28 years old, just took the plunge.
« on: June 04, 2015, 02:16:13 AM »
Hey guys,

My name is Joseph (friends call me Joey or Joe). I'm from Edmonton Alberta Canada and I'm 28 years old. I work in the tire industry and I'm a big hockey fan, my Dad had me in skates as soon as I could walk! I played minor hockey from 6 years old until 17. Love the sport!

Anyways, I have been lurking these forums over the past few years while I obsessed about my disappearing hairline.

I started receding pretty much as soon as I hit 18, I didn't really notice until 23-24 because it was such a slow process but it has gotten to the point where I have to give up and stop the fight.

It really consumed me and chipped away at my confidence... it was getting to the point where I was unhappy with how my hair looked more often then I was content. I was rocking the junior comb over for the last few years covering up my disappearing bangs. I did an OK job but it still bothered me.. I hated seeing some pictures of myself. I have been THAT GUY rocking a hat whenever I went out... I never wanted to be that guy.

Here are my before and afters, I don't think I'm ready to razor it right down to the skin, I unfortunately have a pretty bad/patchy beard that takes months to fill out. I work in a professional setting and can't look scruffy for two months while it fills out.

I just did it last week, still getting used to the look (and need to get some sun) but I think it looks OK, definitely makes me look older though. Not sure why my bangs decided to disappear when my crown seems to show no signs of balding but I guess its different for everyone.