Author Topic: Help with fine line between tanning and burning!  (Read 2763 times)

Offline SWvic

• Sly Jr.
Help with fine line between tanning and burning!
« on: August 29, 2014, 05:35:29 PM »
So bit of help requested from all you wise slies  O0

My head is still bright white on top (I'm on day 7) and I've been out in the sun... but with sunscreen... So my question is: what is the window of tanning before I start burning??? I love the smooth dome but I don't want it all red and flaky... that'd sorta ruin the look!

Offline rss114

• Sly
  • Finally Sly
Re: Help with fine line between tanning and burning!
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2014, 05:48:29 PM »
Obviously since I'm not sly yet I'm no expert but if your using SPF 30 try us ring less SPF maybe try going down to SPF 15?

Offline SWvic

• Sly Jr.
« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2014, 05:53:36 PM »
I don't think you can buy that in Australia... It's all 50+ here!

But I was more thinking of bare-heading in the sun, and then sunscreening after like 20mins... or is this WRONG!?

Offline Sly Red

• GSG Southerner in Exile
  • Team Sly
  • Sly Bureau
    • Facebook
« Reply #3 on: August 30, 2014, 12:38:56 AM »
The length of time you can take the sun without sunscreen is really very dependent on your skin.  Since it is winter in the southern hemisphere you're not getting as direct sun as we are here in the northern hemisphere.  Still, be careful.  Don't try to tan too quickly.  I use the same lotions on my shaved head as I do on my face.  Many of them have a sun protection factor of SPF15.  Google Kiehl's on the internet.  I use one of their lotions every day.  I notice that for Australia the SPF is higher than in the USA.

Red
In matters of grave importance, style, not sincerity, is the vital thing.” Oscar Wilde

Offline Adamski1972

• Super Sly
  • Bald and bold!
« Reply #4 on: August 30, 2014, 01:31:35 AM »