Author Topic: eBooks  (Read 7781 times)

Offline tomcj2

• Sly
    • CanbyWeather
Re: eBooks
« Reply #15 on: August 24, 2013, 05:22:31 PM »
I had been using a Kindle Fire for a couple of years.  I liked it but there were a few problems, the biggest being a very short battery life between charges.  I got in the habit of leaving it plugged in while I was reading in bed.  The USB plug became loose and finally didn't make a connection at all.

I replaced it with a Kindle PaperWhite.  It doesn't have Internet browsing capabilities, but otherwise I find it a better product.  The battery lasts a week or so of heavy reading.  Unlike the Fire I can read this one outside in bright sun.  It is a bit smaller, a lot thinner and lighter and fits in my coat pocket easily.

One little quirk is while using it with the built in back light in a dark room there appears to be 4 very faint finger prints across the bottom;  after researching the "problem" I can to realize that it is actually a shadow from the led's.  I hardly notice it anymore.

Our library does not yet have a wide variety of Kindle books to borrow, but I expect that to improve.

I bought a refurbished PaperWhite for less than $90;  it has a full warranty and looked like new.

I would recommend it to all.

Offline tomcj2

• Sly
    • CanbyWeather
« Reply #16 on: August 24, 2013, 05:24:01 PM »
The basic one will be fine as a secondary device which is all I'm really planning to use it for.

You need an external light source to read the basic one in a dark room.

Offline Razor X

• Sly Moderator
  • Sly Nobility
« Reply #17 on: August 24, 2013, 06:33:40 PM »
The basic one will be fine as a secondary device which is all I'm really planning to use it for.

You need an external light source to read the basic one in a dark room.

That's OK. I don't anticipate having to read in the dark and if I ever do -- in the event of a owner failure -- the iPad will be able handle that.

Offline Razor X

• Sly Moderator
  • Sly Nobility