Author Topic: Ready to give up shaving (razor bumps)  (Read 20901 times)

Offline blue73

• Learning the way of Sly
Ready to give up shaving (razor bumps)
« on: July 06, 2010, 01:59:04 AM »
Hi everyone.  I love the shaved head look, but I just can't seem to win with it.  I've been shaving my head for over 3 months, and the razor bump/ingrown hair problem just will not go away.  I'm particularly frustrated tonight, as after shaving, my head was absolutely covered in red bumps, moreso than ever before.  I've tried multiple shaving gels, razors, aftershave treatments, exfoliants, acne medications, the works...  Nothing helps it one bit.

As much as I hate the MPB look, I'm thinking of just giving up at this point.  Before I do, here is my routine... Maybe there's somebody out there who can help me.

Wash my head with shampoo
Exfoliate with St. Ives Apricot Scrub + brush
Apply Neutrogena sensitive skin shaving gel
Let gel sit for 5 minutes while I'm showering
Shave head with double blade razor with the grain only(I've tried a single blade, but it did just as poorly)
Use short, even strokes
Rinse head with cold water for 30 seconds when done
Apply Tend Skin to head(after shaving and before bed)

My head looks hideous right now.  I'm going to have to wear a ballcap where ever I go the next few days.  This is so frustrating.  I was just beginning to get comfortable with the bald look, but the bumps just won't go away.  For the record, I am caucasian, but I have coarse, wavy hair, which is probably why I have such a problem with this.

Would electric razors help?  Any recommendations?  Thank you for any help you can give.

Offline omegapd

• Sly
  • "Fuzzy"
Re: Ready to give up shaving (razor bumps)
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2010, 05:10:57 AM »