Author Topic: java programming?  (Read 1725 times)

HoodooMan

java programming?
« on: March 03, 2010, 10:38:31 PM »
hi fellas! i was wondering if anyone here is good with java programming? i'm trying to teach myself  via a book and online information and am having some trouble. i'm trying to figure out how to write an applet that takes an image and makes it move around the screen. i figured i'd use the "timer" class- it seems like what i'm after. say, take a pic of myself and make it bounce around the screen. i'm working with very simple stuff right now. any help anyone could provide would be greatly appreciated!! hopefully someday i can do programming!

thanks alot fellas for any help!

Offline TheSlyBear

• Opinionated Walrus
  • Team Sly
  • Sly Bureau
  • 忍者クマ
Re: java programming?
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2010, 10:47:45 PM »
That's what I do for a living.

Applets are rather outdated technology. Is there a particular reason that you are focusing on Applets?

In any case, the best place to get Java help is the forums at the JavaRanch Big Moose Saloon.
« Last Edit: March 03, 2010, 10:49:44 PM by bootedbear »

HoodooMan

« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2010, 10:53:25 PM »
the book i'm using seems to take things in steps that i usually understand = small steps! this is the first programming language i've tried to learn. so i'm trying to do things in those small steps so i can understand how the whole language works. plus i'd just like to create a small program to show an image of dancing around the screen!

thanks BEAR!

Offline The Noggin

• Pedestrian & Cyclist
  • Team Sly
  • Sly Bureau
« Reply #3 on: March 04, 2010, 10:50:43 AM »
In my opinion it is very hard to learn to program from scratch completely on your own.
The key is not learning the syntax of a programming language and the tools, but the principles of programming, logical thinking, creating algorithms to solve a given problem.

I would recommend you attend a training course on programming.