Author Topic: Shaving against the grain - beginner  (Read 4879 times)

Offline lukas1135

• Learning the way of Sly
Shaving against the grain - beginner
« on: September 05, 2017, 09:28:32 AM »
Hello , im new to shaving head started on 25th august. I was shaving daily with the grain but i didnt like the sand-paper feel when i rubbed my hand over the head. Yesterday i shaved my head against the grain, went pretty good no cuts or razor bumps , loved the smooth head feeling so today i decided to shave against the grain again but it didnt go as well as yesterday. I got one little cut and few little razor bumps. Is it too early for shaving my head daily or is my skin just too sensitive for daily shave . Does it get better ? Will my skin get use to it ? Should i let my head heal or can i keep shaving my head everyday? Using gillette fusion proglide razor and proraso white shaving cream and having a shower before shaving my head.

Ps: It was the second shave with that razor cartridge

Offline chuck63

• Sly
Re: Shaving against the grain - beginner
« Reply #1 on: September 05, 2017, 01:04:01 PM »
I'm a beginner myself.  I have some receding and thinning hair, but I like the feeling of being bald.   I shaved mine again on Sept 2nd and this is my third try at it.  The last time, I kept it up for a couple of weeks before I let it grow back.  I've always shaved against the grain because it gives me a closer, smoother shave.  I've had a minor nick or two and a few bumps.  I use cortisone cream to clear them up. 

Offline slybeard

• Sly Bureau
« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2017, 08:07:57 AM »
For some guys, it takes more for the skin to adjust to an "against the grain" shave.    Give your scalp a few days to recover by saving with the grain, and then try again.  If you skin is too sensitive, an ATG shave may not work out for you.
SlyBeard

Offline Ramathorn

« Reply #3 on: September 12, 2017, 10:30:41 AM »