Author Topic: PAINFUL to Shave my head!  (Read 5004 times)

Offline frankrom

• Learning the way of Sly
PAINFUL to Shave my head!
« on: October 02, 2017, 07:44:20 PM »
Hello Everyone,

I am new to shaving my head - started to do it because I was thinning on top a bit.  I took the plunge after much much consideration.

I am finding it extremely painful to shave my head...  This is what I have done so far...

First I shaved in the shower with canned aerosol can... I didn't find it all that painful as far as I can remember as it was a few weeks ago. 

I did some reading and I learned that it is better to use good quality shaving cream, oils and aftershave... this seems to be best done outside the shower due to the process.

So I bought good quality oil, creams and aftershave... I shower and then I put some preshave oil on my head... lather up some cream or shave soap and get it on my head... when I begin shaving I find that there is a lot of pulling, and also ripping type feeling... i find it extremely uncomfortable and painful...

I am using BRAND NEW 6 blade dorco razors, I also tried a safety razor tonight and my head is sliced up something awful. I am getting so frustrated and depressed. 

I feel like i had to look bad with thinning hair... and now I cannot even get a tight clean shave going.

I cannot shave every two days when it feels like this.

Any idea what is going on?  Should I try going back to shaving in the shower?

I should mention I shave against the grain because I want that tight clean look.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thank you!

Online reddog

• Sly Bureau
Re: PAINFUL to Shave my head!
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2017, 08:15:01 PM »
A few thoughts. Less number of blades is better. No more than 3! It took my head about a month to get conditioned to shaving, especially against the grain.

I would suggest using a foil type electric shaver, and then switch to a blade every few days. I found the Schick Extreme 3 disposable works great.