Author Topic: Christian Men with Earrings  (Read 18428 times)

Offline paperclip

• Sly Jr.
Christian Men with Earrings
« on: January 31, 2016, 12:10:45 PM »
Hey,

I wonder are there any of you on here who are Christians and maybe attend church who have earrings?

I have been wearing my earrings in both ears for about 4 months now. I switch between cz studs and some black studs about 4 mm in diameter.

I haven't had any negative feedback until 2 weeks ago at church.

An older woman who is a friend of my wife's finally noticed I was wearing stud earrings (she's seen me before many times but never said anything to me about them).
She asked me why did I wear them and I said because I like them. She went on to say that they were a sign of vanity and that I was being rebellious. So, not exactly a rebuke, but I could tell she didn't think I should be wearing them (I don't care what she thinks, I'm still wearing them because I want to)

Just wondering if anyone else has had someone say anything negative about their earrings at a church type setting. Were you told they were inappropriate? And if so how did you respond?

There is a debate whether Christian men should wear earrings--the whole issue of "men wearing women's attire and women wearing men's attire". I don't look at earrings as "womens" attire any more than long pants are "mens" attire.

I have another Christian male friend on another forum who has been wearing earrings for years and he attends a church and has had no negative comments. he was told by his pastor that as long as they weren't satanic in nature that there wasn't a problem. Same with tattoos.

Other than the one older woman who commented, no one else has commented negatively. Another woman in our church bible study group noticed my earrings back in November and just asked me if they were new to which I replied yes.
So not everyone is against them.

Any thoughts?

Offline reddog

• Sly Bureau
Re: Christian Men with Earrings