Author Topic: Search for a new computer  (Read 5493 times)

Offline baldjoeg

• Ad Free VIP
  • Sly Bureau
  • Newport Beach, CA. A great place to be in March.
Search for a new computer
« on: November 19, 2012, 07:27:37 PM »
Our Old Gateway desktop computer seems to be about ready to die. I went out to an Apple store last week to look at some models. I could not believe how busy they were. I am not a computer techie so I would welcome any advise anyone could send my way. I noticed how much more Apple computers are cost wise than regular PC's. Does the higher price justify the additional expense?

We both have liked the PC Desk top computer that we have and the Windows XP operating platform. I also have a TOshiba laptop that operates on a Windows Vista platform which I really don't care for.

I have never owned or used an Apple Computer before. I have heard a lot of good things about them.

I know that Ipads seem to be the new big thing to use but I don't know anything about them.

TI welcome any advice that anyone can give us. Thanks for any good advise that you can send my way.

O0 O0 O0

Offline Sir Harry

• Sly Kegler
  • Sly Moderator
  • Sly Nobility
Re: Search for a new computer
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2012, 08:02:34 PM »
Hi, Mr. Joe.....The last computer I bought was a Compaq at Best Buy back in April 2011. It was $299 plus $59 for a one-year warranty. I also bought Norton Antivirus for $99 for two years. The warranty and the Norton is optional, but I didn't want to have to reinvest in another computer for at least two years (my previous one, an HP 5000, lasted from July 2006 to April 2011 though I did have it repaired in Summer 2009). In my opinion, depending on what you want to spend, Best Buy gives great values (I don't know where you live or if there is a Best Buy in your area) but Office Depot also sells good computers with nice warranties (I bought one for my mom for her birthday last year) Good luck and PM me if you have any questions!