Author Topic: Close Shave  (Read 6684 times)

Offline cwc

• Learning the way of Sly
Close Shave
« on: January 30, 2007, 11:39:14 PM »
i naturally have dark hair, and so naturally my stubble grows in dark. but  looking at pictures from days i shave my head, there is greyness to my head, even though my head is entirely smooth. the only problem is that it is much darker on the side, than the top. i jsut would like to look less balding and more even.  is there any way  to get a closer shave to get rid of this?

Offline Robmeister

• The Duke of SLY
  • Sly Moderator
  • Sly Bureau
  • I'm not this handsome in real life
Re: Close Shave
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2007, 11:54:48 PM »
Welcome, cwc!

The pale shadow is something we all deal with in some fashion.  I'm a rookie in the headshaving dept....but I don't think it's a matter of getting the closest possible shave that mitigates the "pale" part.

Here's one thread to check:

http://www.slybaldguys.com/smf/index.php?topic=128.msg1524#msg1524

You can also use the search function and plug in "shadow" and get some hits.

a couple bottom lines that have been arrived at here:

1.  All bald dudes have issues with it to whatever degree
2.  It's really not as noticeable to others as it is to us...you know, pressing our forehead against the mirror
3.  It takes patience and extended exposure to even it all out up there.

Offline Tyler

• The Count of Sly
  • Administrator
  • Sly Nobility
    • SILIST - Smitty's Information List
« Reply #2 on: January 31, 2007, 12:01:17 AM »
Welcome CWC!  There's a couple of different posts in regards to how to get a close shave and lessen the shadow.

Here's on one going against the grain: http://www.slybaldguys.com/smf/index.php?topic=238.0

Here's another on reducing the shadow: http://www.slybaldguys.com/smf/index.php?topic=128.0

It basically comes down to going against the grain to get the closest shave and then getting some sun to help even the skin tone and lighten the hair color.