Author Topic: Novice with routine/questions  (Read 3914 times)

Offline xRyanF

• Learning the way of Sly
Novice with routine/questions
« on: August 04, 2017, 01:00:13 PM »
 Hey everyone. I took the plunge on Wednesday. I'm only 23 and decided to go bald. By choice though, because I have always wanted to do it. Anyways, I have a few questions because I am a novice at this.

1. I know routines are subjective, but does this seem good?: hot shower, soap and shampoo, get out, apply shave gel, shave once with the grain. Reapply gel and shave against grain. Cold water to finish and then i apply regular moisturizer.

2. I have these bumps on my head, I am pretty sure not from irritation or anything. They are a pain to shave because if I go over them, odds are I'll cut them (already have twice), and it is a pain to shave around. I'll try to post pictures. But they are bigger than irritation bumps and was wondering if they would go away

3. I'm really taking my time shaving, because I love the feel of a smooth bald head. But not even 3 hours later when I touch my head again I feel stubble. Its slight but there. Sandpaper feel to it. It's frustrating because I dont want to shave 5 times a day just to keep a smooth head. Is this something i have to live with or is it an issue with my equipment or routine? I use the Gilette Fusion Proshield 5 Blade. I am thinking of picking up a Mach 3 after work because I have heard good things about it

Thanks in advance guys.

Offline Zooman

• Sly Jr.
Re: Novice with routine/questions
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2017, 01:24:40 PM »
Welcome to the forum and congratulations on taking the plunge!
I've only been at this for about four months myself (so I'm no expert yet), but your routine sounds pretty good.  The only thing I'd say is that you really don't need to shampoo.  I exfoliate my scalp about every other day and then I'll use something (right now HeadBlade's Head Wash) on my head and face on the in between days.