Author Topic: First time bald...  (Read 4023 times)

Offline TheodorusRex

• Sly Jr.
  • Each moment is a place you've never been before.
First time bald...
« on: December 19, 2016, 06:35:12 AM »
I've been losing my hair for nearly 10 years.  I've been watching it recede and having the usual thoughts and some insecurity.  One day, I knew I'd just shave it completely - simply because the horseshoe and comb-over are completely unacceptable to me.  (my Dad does that)

Then the surprise:

I wasn't at all prepared - and some people have told me it wasn't time yet - but on the day after Thanksgiving, my GF had a mishap with the clippers (without the guard) - forcing me to clip my entire head without a guard.  I didn't like that at all (patches) - so I shaved completely.

Much to my surprise, I kind of liked it.  The act of shaving (very Zen) was even cool.  My GF said she liked it, but we always think those close to us are biased.

My Dad hated it (but he's sporting a horseshoe - so his opinion doesn't count).   Went to work with some trepidation but some people thought it was cool.  "At least you have a good shaped head," they said.  Others made some snide comments...  (next time I receive one of those - I'm going to fire back with something unflattering about them)

Overall, the more time that goes by, the more I like it.  Radical Self Acceptance has become my mantra.   Not just that - but I'm not a complainer by nature.   This baldness chose me - but I'm going to make the most of it.  I am resolved to increase my confidence and embrace this...  I've read bald guys appear taller, appear more successful, etc.   So, armed with that knowledge - I just need to push thru to the other side and allow this to become me...  I'm never going back - that much is clear.   It's just too easy - it feels too good - and it's just not important enough to fuss over.  I mean - look at Syria and sh*t...  I can't complain without appearing to be spoiled...  in my mind anyway...